Skip to main content


Wednesday, May 15, 2019

The Most Reverend James A. Tamayo, D.D., Bishop of the Diocese of Laredo, will celebrate the Boy Scout Award Mass and recognize the achievements of 49 youth and 3 adult leaders on Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 10:00 A.M. in historic San Agustín Cathedral, (Santa Monica Hall, temporary location, due to renovations).

The Catholic Boy Scout Religious Awards program is coordinated by the Diocese of Laredo Catholic Committee on Scouting in cooperation with the Boy Scouts of America Aztec District. Attending classes and undertaking various educational activities over the past three months, scouts were encouraged to grow spiritually through community service, and exploration of relationships with friends and family.

Seven Cub Scouts will receive the Light of Christ Medal and twelve will receive the Parvuli Dei Medal. The Light of Christ award is for boys in school grades 1-2 and encourages Scouts to develop a personal relationship with Jesus. The Parvuli Dei award, for grades 3,4-5, is designed to help boys become more aware of God’s presence in their daily lives. 

Thirteen Boy Scouts will receive the Ad Altare Dei award. This award is for boys in grades 6-8 and helps  them to develop a fully Christian way of life based on the seven sacraments. Seventeen Boy Scouts will be receiving the Pope Pius XII Award. The Pope Pius XII medal is for young men of high school age. This program deals with church related ministries and vocations. Nine scouts will receive “Honors” for working on and achieve all four Catholic Religious Medals.

Three deserving Boy Scout adult community leaders will receive the Bronze Pelican Emblem, the second highest Catholic Scout award, for their dedication to the Catholic scouting movement in the local Aztec District of the BSA South Texas Council. These leaders are being recognized for their years of volunteer service to the Catholic scouting movement in the Diocese of Laredo.

The Diocese of Laredo Catholic Committee on Scouting is lead by Rudy Sanchez, Sr. Chair.