Skip to main content

Join us for the 18th Anniversary Mass of Diocese of Laredo

Thursday, August 9, 2018

All are invited to celebrate the anniversary of our diocese on August 9, 2018 with Mass at the San Agustín Cathedral at 6:30 p.m. The Diocese of Laredo Choir invites the faithful to pray with them through music with the prelude concert at 6:15 p.m.

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Laredo (Latin: Dioecesis Laredanus) is a Roman Catholic diocese located in Laredo, Texas. It was founded on July 3, 2000. The San Agustín Cathedral is the Mother Church of the Diocese of Laredo. James Anthony Tamayo is the current bishop of the Diocese. It covers an area of 10,905 sq. mi. and has 222,250 members. It has 51 Priests, 29 Deacons, 32 Parishes, and 23 Missions.

On July 3, 2000, the Diocese of Laredo was created by His Holiness Pope John Paul II and made Auxiliary Bishop James Anthony Tamayo, from the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston, the First Bishop of Laredo. The Laredo diocese included portions of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Corpus Christi and the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of San Antonio, namely the counties of Dimmit, Jim Hogg, La Salle, Maverick, Webb, Zapata, and Zavala. On August 9, 2000, the Apostolic Letters erecting the diocese and installing Bishop Tamayo were formally read by the Apostolic Nuncio in the presence of 25 bishops, over 200 priests, 50 deacons and 3000 other faithful who gathered for the occasion at the Laredo Civic Center.