Mission/History

Catholic Social Services of Laredo, Inc. (CSSL) is a non-profit organization under the auspices of the Diocese of Laredo. As a multi-program human services agency, CSSL is a community based organization that has been serving the people of Laredo and the Texas-Mexico areas of Webb, Zapata, Starr, Maverick and Jim Hogg counties since the 1970's.

CSSL was originally established as Laredo Family Counseling Services, with the objective of providing counseling for emotional and/ or psychological problems affecting Laredo families. Since that time, CSSL has grown to become a leader in providing various direct services to individuals and families who live in economically distressed areas.

The mission of Catholic Social Services of Laredo is to strengthen and empower families through its diverse programs and social services. Services reflect the needs of the area's population and the demographic make-up of the South Texas border. Its wide range of programs and resources enables CSSL to meet the unique needs of the community and its people.

All program services are provided without regard to religion, race, income, disability, or sexual orientation.

Services and Programs
General Fund Welfare Assistance Program is a City of Laredo funded program that provides low-income families experiencing a crisis or dire hardship with rental assistance, utility assistance, medical transportation, ambulance and prescription medication. Assistance is limited to City of Laredo Residents.
o Rental Assistance
o Utility Assistance
o Medical Transportation
o Prescription Medication 

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is a program that provides assistance to individuals experiencing crises. The program provides assistance with rent/mortgages, utility assistance, mass feeding, and mass shelter. This program is awarded to Webb County under the Emergency Food and Shelter National Board. Program assistance is open to all residents that live in Webb County.
Rental Assistance
Utility Assistance
Immigration Service Program provides services in the preparation and legalization of immigrants. Consultations and processing of applications are subject to fees based on a sliding scale.
Consultations
Document Translation
Low cost Immigration Preparation & Processing

Senior Center Program -The program provides a safe enviroment for seniors 60 years and older.  Daily nutritional meals, activities, and exercise are offered.  Location is  1701 Main Street.  Phone # 956 722-3629. 

Immigration Services:  Offers services to become legal permanent residents, US Citizens, visa status, etc.

Location

1919 Cedar Ave. (corner of Cedar Avenue / Fremont St.)
Laredo, Texas 78040

Phone: (956) 722-2443

Fax: (956) 725-2238

 

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday

8:00am - 12:00pm & 1:00pm-5:00pm

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2010-2011
Pat Hearn, President
Fernando Montemayor, Vice President
Elizabeth Martinez, Secretary
Lourdes Martinez, Diocesan Fiscal Officer
Mike Kazen, Member
David Cardwell, Member

Staff

Rebecca Solloa, Executive Director - rsolloa@csslaredo.org

Myrna Gonzalez, Immigration Attorney - mgonzalez@csslaredo.org

Edith Cedillo, Immigration Specialist - ecedillo@csslaredo.org

Olga Saenz, Receptionist - osaenz@csslaredo.org

Roberto Garza, Bookkeeper - rgarza@csslaredo.org

Christina Rodriguez, Case Manager - crodriguez@csslaredo.org

Evelyn Molina, BSW - emolina@csslaredo.org

Teresa De La Garza, Receptionist/Administrative Assistant - tdelagarza@csslaredo.org