Skip to main content

Chancery Building

Diocesan Bishop

Most Reverend James A. Tamayo, D.D.

Administrative Assistant
Gloria Rodríguez         

Executive Secretary                                          
Laura Moran-López                                                                                                                    

Vicar General

Very Rev. R. Anthony Mendoza

Fiscal Office and Accounting

Fiscal Officer
María Cecilia Moreno                                 

Lizzy Escamilla-Flores

Parish Accountant                                       
José A. López

Parish Accountant                                       
Delia Chacón 

Staff Accountant                                                        
Patricia González

Accounts Payable
María Elena Acosta

Payroll/Accounts Receivable
Dora Martínez

Accounting Specialist
Daniela Molina

Office of Human Resources

Melinda M. Sepúlveda

Benefits Manager
Elva Medina

Clare Gámez

Office of Stewardship and Development

Rene Gonzalez

Development Services Coordinator 
Azeneth De La Cruz

Development Projects Coordinator
Anna Foster                                                                                     


Judicial Vicar
Rev. Oliver Ángel

Rocío Gámez

Communications Department

Bennett McBride Jr.

Radio Broadcast and Sales Associate
Erica Johnston

Editor of La Fe Magazine
Margaret Medellin

Technology Department

Information Technology Specialist
Luis Martínez                                                 

Contact Information

1901 Corpus Christi St.
Laredo, TX. 78043

9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

(956) 727-2140

Chancellor's Revisions of Current Statistics
March 24,  2009

Area of Diocese: 10,905 sq. mi.
Total Population: 332,120
Catholic Population: 249,090
Diocesan Priests: 29
Religious Priests: 22
Retired Priests: 1
Bishops: 1
Total number of priests: 53
Deacons: 34
Seminarians: 4
Religious Brothers: 6
Religious Sisters: 69
Parishes: 32
Independent Missions: listed as Parishes
Missions: 17
Residential Care of Children: Sacred Heart Children’s Home  (57– 60 children)

High Schools: 1
Elementary Schools: 6