Skip to main content

Chancery Building

Diocesan Bishop

Most Reverend James A. Tamayo, D.D.

Administrative Assistant
Gloria Rodríguez                  
grodriguez@dioceseoflaredo.org

Executive Secretary                                          
Maria de los Angeles Palacios                                                                                      
mpalacios@dioceseoflaredo.org                                  

Vicar General

Very Rev. R. Anthony Mendoza
franthonym@dioceseoflaredo.org

Fiscal Office and Accounting

Fiscal Officer
María Cecilia Moreno
cmoreno@dioceseoflaredo.org                                 

Controller
Lizzy Escamilla-Flores

Senior Accountant                                  
José A. López

Staff Accountant                                                        
Daniela Molina

Accounts Payable
María Elena Acosta

Payroll/Accounts Receivable
Delia Chacon

Office of Human Resources

Director
Melinda M. Sepúlveda
msepulveda@dioceseoflaredo.org

Benefits Manager
Elva Medina
emedina@dioceseoflaredo.org

Assistant
Clare Gámez
cgamez@diceseoflaredo.org

HR Coordinator
Isabel Rodriguez
irodriguez@dioceseoflaredo.org

Office of Stewardship and Development

Director of Stewardship and Development
Karla Ibarra
kibarra@dioceseoflaredo.org

Development Services Coordinator
Linda Torres
ltorres@dioceseoflaredo.org

Development Projects Coordinator
Gloria Vasquez
gvasquez@dioceseoflaredo.org

Communications Department

Director of Marketing and Communications
Anselmo Guarneros
aguarneros@dioceseoflaredo.org

Executive Vice-President and General Manager of KHOY 88.1 FM
Bennett McBride Jr.
bmcbride@dioceseoflaredo.org

Editor of La Fe Magazine
Melissa M. Pici
mpici@dioceseoflaredo.org

Safe Environment

Coordinator
Isabel Rodriguez
irodriguez@dioceseoflaredo.org

Interim Victim Assistance Coordinator
Melinda Sepulveda
msepulveda@dioceseoflaredo.org         
 

Facilities Management Office

Director of Facilities
Benjamin Martinez
bmartinez@dioceseoflaredo.org

                                      

Contact Information

1901 Corpus Christi St.
Laredo, TX. 78043

Monday-Thursday
8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

(956) 727-2140


General Information

Type of Jurisdiction: Diocese

Erected: July 3, 2000

Metropolitan: Archdiocese of San Antonio

Rite: Latin (or Roman)

State: Texas

Country: United States of America

Square Kilometers: 27,482 (10,614 Square Miles)

Conference Region: X (AR, OK, TX)

Statistics

Total Population: 378,803

Catholic Population: 344,711

Diocesan Priests: 48

Religious Priests: 14

Retired Priests: 4

Bishops: 1

Total number of priests: 63

Deacons: 33

Seminarians: 4

Parishes: 32

Independent Missions: listed as Parishes

Missions: 17 

Residential Care of Children: 45

Education

High Schools: 1 

Elementary Schools: 3


Statistic Information revised as of August 2018.